RDC-9 reorganizes, nominates 4 LGU executives as chairperson


Sharing is caring!

PAGADIAN CITY, Sept. 10 (PNA) – The Regional Development Council-9 (RDC-9) has nominated four local government unit (LGU) executives and three private sector representatives (PSR) for President Rodrigo Duterte to choose who will chair and co-chair the RDC-9.

Teresita Socorro Ramos, National Economic Development Authority (NEDA) regional director, told the Philippines News Agency that the nominees were chosen during the reorganizational meeting of the RDC-9 held on Thursday in this city.

The office of Ramos, which serves as the RDC secretariat, will endorse the names of the nominees to Malacañang for the President to choose a council chairperson and a co-chairperson.

Read Also:  Payout for Pagadian City 4Ps Beneficiaries, released

The four local government executive-nominees are Gov. Wilter Palma, Zamboanga Sibugay; Mayor Darel Uy, Dipolog City; Mayor Anamel Olegario, Ipil, Zamboanga Sibugay; and, Mayor Al-Qaid Akbar, Isabel City.

The PSR nominees are Evelyn Uy, Girl Scout of the Philippines Zamboanga del Norte chapter president; Jose Suan, Philippine Integrated Industrial Labor Union, president; and, Pedro Rufo Soliven, Zamboanga City Chamber of Commerce and Industry Foundation, Inc., president.

Ramos said those who would be chosen by President Duterte as chairperson and co-chairperson would serve in the RDC until 2019.

The RDC is composed of representatives from the LGUs, regional government agencies, non-government organizations and private sector and is responsible to assist in the development of the region.


The RDC is the highest planning and policy-making body in the region and serves as the counterpart of NEDA board in the sub-national level.

Meanwhile, 12 representatives from the private sector, including Soliven, Uy and Suan, were sworn in by Palma as new members of the RDC.

They are the following: Atty. Carl Andrew Rubio, Industrial Group of Zamboanga, Inc. (IGZI) board member; Nestor Carbonera, Xavier Science Foundation executive director; Fr. Enrico Montano, executive director, Center for Social Concerns and Development, Inc., Zamboanga del Norte;

Mercedes Lourdes Quisumbing, Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industries, Inc. regional governor; Alfredo Jamora, Tungawan Employees and Community Multi-Purpose Cooperative chairperson; Victoria Cajandig, Pikhumpongan Dlibon Subanen, Inc. executive director; Antonio Rodriguez, Pagadian City Federation of Multi-Purpose Cooperative chairperson; Miriam Suacito, Nagdilaab Foundation, Inc., executive director; and, Cirilo Ablao, Prime Movers for Peace and Progress Association, Inc., regional head. (PNA)

Sharing is caring!