Duterte signs EO expanding Bangsamoro Transition Commission


Sharing is caring!

President Rodrigo Duterte on Monday signed an executive order creating an expanded Bangsamoro Transition Commission (BTC) in an attempt to make the peace process in Mindanao more inclusive.

From 15, the new BTC will have 21 members tasked to draft the enabling law in establishing a Bangsamoro government in Mindanao.

Eleven of the members will come from the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) including the the chairman of the BTC. Ten of its members will be nominated by the government.

Three of the government’s nominees will be from the Moro National Liberation Front (MNLF) after Duterte directed the new BTC to consolidate the 1996 agreement with the MNLF and the 2014 Comprehensive Agreement on the Bangsamoro with the MILF into a single enabling law.

Read Also:  NPA gives side on Kapalong ambush

The BTC is expected to submit the draft law to Congress in the middle of next year.

Dureza, MILF Chairman Al Haj Ebrahim Murad, government Implementing Panel Chair Irene Santiago, and MILF Implementing Panel Chair Mohagher Iqbal, along with other members of the Cabinet and the MILF Central Committee, witnessed the signing of the EO.


MNLF founding chairman Nur Misuari, who was given temporary freedom to join the Bangsamoro peace process, was not present at the signing of the EO.

Dureza, in a press release, said the government will talk to a five-person panel to be formed by Misuari.

Misuari was received by Duterte in Malacañang last week a few hours after the court suspended his trial and warrants of arrest to allow him to join the peace process.

Read Also:  Obama made the right decision in not meeting Duterte – Clinton

Sharing is caring!